I Like what I like.....

Photo by Luca Upper on Unsplash

I Like what I like.....

The beginning of something new.

Likeness or Interest is a foundational motivation that keeps our boat moving or rolling. It is like a fuel, a driving force, that little push we need to just keep going.

We often hear people say "when your job is your hobby, you wouldn't feel like it is a chore". Some people disagree with the statement "It doesn't feel like a chore". I understand their standpoint, I think when we like something that we do we are willing to go through the sacrifice of getting it done irrespective of the pain or burden it takes.

That likeness is the driving force that keeps us going, we enjoy the whole process including the pain we have to endure. We are willing to go the extra length because it is what we want, what we desire, no one is forcing us or is obligating us to do it.

"It is like in a typical Nigerian home when you are feeling all energetic with the intention to clean the whole house, but that moment someone instructs you to do it, you just feel the sudden weakness and lack the motivation to do it" I don't know if that is even a good example πŸ˜…. But what I am just trying to say is "WE LIKE WHAT WE LIKE".

Think about it, it spans different parts of our lives like

  • Relationships / Friendships: When we like someone, and I mean genuine likeness, we find ourselves doing things selflessly to please them even without them asking and we don't dwell too much on what it might take from us or how much discomfort it could be. We find ourselves going out of our comfort zone unknowingly.

I love the feeling I get when I stumble on something I like. I hope words don't fail me when describing this. I feel alive, I feel it all over my body, weird right? I get that a lot. I feel this surge of energy all over my body that tingles and my heart keeps beating like it wants to explode ( slow down champ)😁 . I think it's because I hardly fancy things so it's a big deal when I like something.

All this story was birthed from reading a book that I really enjoyed "Steal Like an Artist" it motivated me that I had to share what I felt.

I forgot to mention "when I like something I enjoy sharing it with people close to me or just telling someone around me. I could talk about it none stop, but sadly sometimes I don't always get to disturb people with my talks, because I have a LOT to say. I just want to tell whoever cares to listen "not always though". I would like to rant about what I like to who I like and I want them to like that I like what I like and like "oops I got carried away"πŸ˜….

Need I mention I fell in-like wink wink. with UI/UX design, and trust me these 5 months have been nothing short of amazing NGL. Of course, there have been ups and downs, days I felt like I didn't know what I was doing and all. But guess what!!! Yes, you got it right. I kept on showing up. The likeness I have for it fueled me to continue.

In Summary, doing what I like helps me feel alive, and speaking to people I like and being motivated by them hits home dearly.

Writing is therapeutic for me, and I think it is high time I let my writing juice flow and share it with the world. I am kind of nervous though 😏. After reading the book, I decided to let my hobbies mix, I would use this blog as a medium to document my learning journey, progress, and personal talks In Sha Allah (By Allah's will).

I hope you find that thing you genuinely like that gives you that ray of hope to always keep fighting and showing up.

If you read to this point, welcome to my safe space, this is the beginning of something new for me.

Thank You for reading.

You can connect with me on social media. Connect with me on LinkedIn Twitter Behance Instagram Dribbble

Good vibes only, πŸ’› + πŸ’‘, and everything nice.*

Best regards Khaerie_talks❀

Β